Action Item: Hearing on Financial Transparency (Taxes) in Presidential Elections


FOCUS: Election Integrity – Presidential Taxes
GOAL: Show “remote” support for S.365 – An Act Restoring Financial Transparency in Presidential Elections
DEADLINE: Today – Hearing is at 1PM at the State House

.

WHAT’S HAPPENING:

 

Letter from the office of Senator Barrett:

Dear Friend,

We finally have a date! The State Legislature’s Committee on Election Laws has rescheduled the public hearing on Senator Barrett’s bill, S.365, to require candidates for president to disclose their tax returns in order to appear on a Massachusetts primary or general election ballot.

Until recently, Americans just assumed that the stature of the Office of President ensured the observance of certain principles of transparency and integrity. While unwritten, these are responsible and well-established. One of these is the disclosure by candidates of recent tax returns and, by extension, possible conflicts of interest.

The 2016 election shattered our confidence. Now the states need to rebuild it.

Hearing on presidential tax returns bill (S.365, An Act Restoring Financial Transparency in Presidential Elections)
Wednesday, September 6th at 1 p.m.
State House, B1

Beacon Hill leaders are eyeing reasonable ideas that allow Massachusetts to define decency in the wake of 2016. Let’s make sure this idea gets included. If we lead, other states will follow.

Let’s turn out in force. Please forward this email to friends and neighbors. Post about the hearing on social media. Write a letter in support of the bill to your local paper. Make sure you’re at the hearing. (To show your support, look for someone outside the hearing room handing out stickers).

While you are in the State House, you can also check in with your local Senator or Representative and ask for their support. For more information, please contact Karen Clawson Cosmas from March Forward Mass. at kcosmas@marchforwardmass.org or on 617-806-6554.

Attached is a factsheet on the bill, as well as a New York Times editorial highlighting the need for reform.

We’ll see you on the 6th.

Best,

Hannah Walford
Communications Director
Office of Senator Mike Barrett
Room 416, State House
617-722-1572
hannah.walford@masenate.gov

.

WHAT YOU CAN DO:

  1. Of course, if you can make the hearing in Boston, that’d be the most powerful way to show your support.
  2. If you cannot make the hearing in person, please do call and/or email your Senator to show your support. You can find your MA legislators contact info here.
  3. You can also contact members of the Joint Committee on Election Laws and let them know you support this bill:Anne M. Gobi- D (Chair) anne.gobi@masenate.gov
    Michael J. Barrett- D (Vice Chair) mike.Barrett@masenate.gov *
    John J. Mahoney- D (Chair) john.Mahoney@mahouse.gov
    Kenneth I. Gordon- D (Vice Chair) ken.Gordon@mahouse.gov **Kathleen O’Connor Ives- D kathleen.OConnorIves@masenate.gov
    Patricia D. Jehlen- D patricia.Jehlen@masenate.gov **
    Jason M. Lewis- D jason.Lewis@masenate.gov **
    Ryan C. Fattman- R ryan.Fattman@masenate.gov
    Jonathan Hecht- D jonathan.Hecht@mahouse.gov **
    Tackey Chan- D tackey.Chan@mahouse.gov
    Russell E. Holmes- D russell.Holmes@mahouse.gov
    Diana DiZoglio – D diana.DiZoglio@mahouse.gov
    Alan Silvia – D Alan.Silvia@mahouse.gov
    Evandro C. Carvalho – D evandro.Carvalho@mahouse.gov
    Joseph J. McGonagle Jr. – D joseph.McGonagle@mahouse.gov
    Nicholas A. Boldyga – R Nicholas.Boldyga@mahouse.gov
    Marc. T. Lombardo – R Marc.Lombardo@mahouse.gov*Sen. Barrett sponsored this bill.
    ** Denotes Bill co-sponsors

.

Photo Credit: desrowVISUALS.com Flickr via Compfight cc