Action Item: Restore Financial Transparency in Presidential Elections (MA Bill S365)


FOCUS: Election Laws and Presidential Accountability

GOAL: Restore financial transparency in presidential elections

.
DEADLINE: ASAP

.
ACTION:

Contact members of the Joint Committee on Election Laws and let them know you support this bill:

Anne M. Gobi- D (Chair) anne.gobi@masenate.gov
Michael J. Barrett- D (Vice Chair) mike.Barrett@masenate.gov *
John J. Mahoney- D (Chair) john.Mahoney@mahouse.gov
Kenneth I. Gordon- D (Vice Chair) ken.Gordon@mahouse.gov **

Kathleen O’Connor Ives- D kathleen.OConnorIves@masenate.gov
Patricia D. Jehlen- D patricia.Jehlen@masenate.gov **
Jason M. Lewis- D jason.Lewis@masenate.gov **
Ryan C. Fattman- R ryan.Fattman@masenate.gov
Jonathan Hecht- D jonathan.Hecht@mahouse.gov **
Tackey Chan- D tackey.Chan@mahouse.gov
Russell E. Holmes- D russell.Holmes@mahouse.gov
Diana DiZoglio – D diana.DiZoglio@mahouse.gov
Alan Silvia – D Alan.Silvia@mahouse.gov
Evandro C. Carvalho – D evandro.Carvalho@mahouse.gov
Joseph J. McGonagle Jr. – D joseph.McGonagle@mahouse.gov
Nicholas A. Boldyga – R Nicholas.Boldyga@mahouse.gov
Marc. T. Lombardo – R Marc.Lombardo@mahouse.gov

*Sen. Barrett sponsored this bill.
** Denotes Bill co-sponsors

.
REASON:

This bill, titled An Act restoring financial transparency in presidential elections, is designed to ensure that any future presidential candidate must submit his or her tax returns in order to appear on the ballot in Massachusetts. The need for such legislation has been made abundantly clear by the never ending stream of headlines tied to the current administration’s potential conflicts of interest and questionable financial dealings both at home and abroad.

Requiring presidential candidate to disclose their tax returns would go a long way toward providing transparency into ways in which a future President might be compromised by conflicts of interest including debts, investments, and financial dealings with domestic and foreign powers. Senator Mike Barrett presented the bill in January and describes it on his website as follows:

Going back at least 36 years, every major party candidate for President of the United States has released his or her tax returns.  This honorable tradition ended with the 2016 election.  Under SD98 a presidential candidate who refuses to submit tax returns or file a Statement of Financial Interests will be ineligible to appear on the relevant Massachusetts primary or general election ballot.  Laurence Tribe, professor of constitutional law at Harvard Law School, has helped with the drafting.  He says the bill will “survive constitutional challenge all the way up to the Supreme Court if necessary.”  State legislators elsewhere in the country are filing similar bills.

.

ADDITIONAL READING & INFO:

Photo Credit: desrowVISUALS.com Flickr via Compfight cc